AWOL was well represented at the President’s Celebration of University Leadership banquet on April 12. Several of our Executive Board Members, Site Leaders, and AWOL participants were nominated and awarded various leadership awards for their community service and engagement. AWOL was recognized for winning the South Dakota Board of Regents Award for Community Service for the fifth year in a row.


Nominees and Recipients include:

Ashley McKeown (President of Operations): Recipient-The Servant Leader Scholarship Award
Nominee-Outstanding Leadership and Service

Kirsty Longley (Director of Alternative Events): Recipient-Unsung Leader Award

Jacob Munger (Co-Director of Recruitment): Recipient-Community Spirit Award

Nate Vinzant (Director of Site Leader Training): Nominee-The Dave Lorenz Senior Leadership Award

Sara Boyum Hento (Graduate Assistant): Recipient-Graduate Student Leadership Award

Emily Roberson (Site Leader): Recipient-Dean Joseph H. Cash Award for Excellence in Writing

Andrew Koch (Site Leader): Nominee-Service Learning Advocate

Congratulations to all of our leadership for such a successful year!